Tutorial 0: Installing emacs on Solaris 10 (x86 without support)

THIS BLOG HAS MOVED TO:

https://bashtheshell.github.io

 

I enjoyed learning how to solve issues, and I had to do some diggings around on the Net to find the solution to this. Sure, linuxquestions.org is a great place to get answers, but my issue was not concisely addressed there. So I thought I would post it here as a future reference for anyone who runs into similar problem.

I used the link, http://www.sunfreeware.com/indexintel10.html to download all the dependencies for the emacs package. I should mention that I was unable to download the gtk+-2.12.0-sol10-x86-local.gz package from the link above, so I obtained the package from the following location, http://www.mmnt.net/db/0/23/ftp.tiscali.nl/pub/mirror/sunfreeware/intel/10/.

I installed  libgcc-3.4.6 package first before installing all the dependencies. After installing all the dependencies, I installed the emacs package, emacs-23.3-sol1–x86-local.

I installed all packages using the following command for each package:

gunzip <package>.gz
pkgadd -d <package-extracted-file> all

where <package> is the the package file in a directory. For example:

gunzip emacs-23.3-sol1--x86-local.gz
pkgadd -d emacs-23.3-sol1--x86-local all

Please notice that the file in the first line has the ‘.gz’  file extension whereas the file in the second line is the extracted file.

I also downloaded the following additional dependencies from the first link since I was having trouble getting the emacs to run properly: bzip,  render, and renderproto. Essentially, all I did was to make sure I downloaded all the dependencies for the gtk+ package. After getting the program to run successfully, I realized the additional dependencies I installed may have nothing to do with the trouble I ran into.

There were some conflicts when I performed the gtk+ installation. The system claimed that the package already have some files installed in the directory. The first time I received the prompt, I answered no and aborted. Eventually I came back to it again and this time I answered no when I was asked if I want to replace all the installed files that were currently in used by other programs. Then the prompt asked if I want to continue installing the remaining files, and I answered yes. I assumed this step does not replace the existing files but rather install the missing files and directories that are necessary in order to run the program. I figured this should have been done before I installed the additional dependencies. I revisited the other package installations I was having similar issues with. Once I was done, I was able to open the emacs editor in a new window.

One thought on “Tutorial 0: Installing emacs on Solaris 10 (x86 without support)

Leave a Reply

